HL Deb 17 July 1868 vol 193 cc1361-3

House in Committee (according to Order).

Amendments made.

THE ARCHBISHOP OF ARMAGH moved after the Clause inserted after Clause 2, to insert the following Clause:— And whereas many Parish Churches have of late Years been erected on a new Site, having attached to them small Churchyards given or purchased for the sole Use of Persons attending the Worship of the Church, and in Size proportioned to the Wants of the Congregation, leaving the old Churchyard for the general Use of the Parishioners: And whereas many Perpetual Cures and District Parishes have been erected of late Tears and Churches built in them, with small Graveyards intended solely for the Use of the Congregations of such Churches: Be it therefore enacted, That it shall be lawful for the Lord Lieutenant in Council, on Application from the Incumbents of any such Church, to declare the same to be exempt, and which Exemption shall be published in the Dublin Gazette, and thereupon such Churchyards shall be exempted from the Operation of this Act."—(The Lord Archbishop of Armagh.)


objected to the clause, which was likely to create an unpleasant feeling in the minds of those whose relatives might be excluded from burial in the small graveyards to which it referred.


thought that these burial-grounds should not be in all cases exempted; but that there should be in certain cases a possibility of exemption.


said a few words in opposition to the clause.

On Question? their Lordships divided:—Contents 42; Not-Contents 23: Majority 19.

Resolved in the Affirmative.

Cairns, L. (L. Chancellor.) Romney, E.
Verulam, E.
Armagh, Archbp.
De Vesci, V.
Beaufort, D. Hawarden, V.
Buckingham and Chandos, D. Melville, V. [Teller.]
Sidmouth, V.
Mar. lborough, D. Strathallan, V.
Richmond, D.
Gloucester and Bristol, Bp.
Exeter, M.
Amherst, E. Abinger, L.
Bathurst, E. Bagot, L.
Cadogan, E. Brodrick,L. (V. Middleton.)
Derby, E.
Devon, E. Chelmsford, L.
Doncaster, E. (D. Buccleuch and Queensberry.) Churston, L.
Clarina, L.
Clinton, L.
Graham, E. (D. Montrose.) Colchester, L.
Colonsay, L.
Denman, L. Redesdale, L.
Egerton, L. Saltersford,L. (E. Courtown.)
Feversham, L.
Fitzwalter, L. Silchester, L. (E. Longford.) [Teller.]
Hartismere, L. (L. Henniker.)
Stewart of Garlies, L. (E. Galloway.)
Northwick, L.
Raglan, L.
Cleveland, D. Elphinstone, L.
Foley, L.
Airlie, E. Foxford, L. (E. Limerick.)
De Grey, E. [Teller.]
Denbigh, E. Lyttelton, L.
Kimberley, E. [Teller.] Lyveden, L.
Minto, E. Monson, L.
Morley, E. Ponsonby, L. (E. Bessborough.)
Sydney, V. Romilly, L.
Seaton, L.
Boyle, L. (E. Cork and Orrery.) Somerhill L. (M. Clanricarde.)
Churchill, L. Stanley of Alderley, L.
Cranworth, L. Truro, L.

The Report of the Amendments to be recoived on Monday next, and Bill to be printed as amended. (No. 269.)