HL Deb 17 April 1860 vol 157 c1873

said, that early in the Session Bills had been introduced for the Consolidation of the Statute Criminal Law and other purposes which, after they had been read the second time, it was determined should be referred to a Select Committee. Owing to the arrears of judicial business in that House, it had hitherto been impossible to proceed with the Committee on those Bills; but that obstacle bad happily been removed by the assiduous labours of the law Lords. He had, therefore, now to move the appointment of the Select Committee, and would be glad to have the co-operation of any noble Lords who were willing to serve upon it.

Motion agreed to; and the Lords following were named of the Committee: the Committee to choose their own Chairman.

Lord Chancellor. L. Cranworth.
E. Carnarvon. L. St. Leonards.
V. Hutchinson. L. Wensleydale.
V. Eversley. L. Belper.
L. Lyndhurst. L. Chelmsford.
L. Brougham and Vaux. L. Kingston.
L. Overstone. L. Egerton.