HL Deb 13 August 1839 vol 50 cc217-8

The Metropolitan Police Courts Bill was reported.

Lord Brougham moved, that the third clause be struck out, not because he objected to an increase in the salaries of the police magistrates, or to their being allowed retiring pensions, but because he wished those pensions to be introduced in a proper bill, which should be introduced at a period when it might receive due deliberation and proper attention.

Viscount Duncannon

could not agree to the proposition of the noble and learned Lord.

Lord Lyndhurst

believed, that the noble Viscount opposite (Viscount Duncannon), had last night given only two reasons for the introduction of these provisions — one was, that additional duties were imposed upon the magistrates by the present bill; and the other was the possibility of their labours being still further increased by a bill to be introduced in another Session of Parliament. Now, the clause of the present bill, imposing additional duties, had been negatived by the House, and it would be time enough to make provisions respecting the prospective jurisdiction when the bill was introduced by which it was to be conferred.

Their Lordships divided on the question that the clause stand:—Contents 30; Not-Contents 43:—Majority 13.

List of the CONTENTS.
DUKES. Lansdowne
Somerset Normanby.
Argyle EARLS.
Richmond. Ilchester
Conyngham Gosford
Westminster Devon
Leitrim LORDS.
Clarendon Holland
Uxbridge, Colborne
De Freyne
Melbourne Stafford
Duncannon Seaford
Falkland Barham
Lismore. Cottenham
BISHOP. Stanley (Alderley)
Peterborough Methuen.
List of the NOT-CONTENTS.
Armagh. Gage
DUKE. Hawarden
Wellington. Canterbury.
Ormonde. London
EARLS. Rochester.
Abingdon LORDS.
Galloway Colville
Tankerville Sondes
Stanhope Boston
Beverley Calthorpe
Liverpool Redesdale
Wicklow Ellenborough
Rosslyn Prudhoe
Charleville Rayleigh
Harrowby Bexley
Verulam Wharncliffe
Beauchamp Fitzgerald
Glengall Lyndhurst
Sheffield Tenterden
Eldon Cowley
Falmouth Wynford
Munster Brougham
Ripon. De L'Isle.
Paired off.
Norfolk Thomond
De Mauley Stuart de Rothsay
Carlisle Hertford
Albermarle. Winchester.

Clause struck out.

Remaining clauses agreed to.

Back to