HC Deb 21 October 1920 vol 133 cc1054-5
11. Major BARNES

asked the Chief Secretary for Ireland how many Members of Parliament are in gaol; what constituencies they represent; and the numbers sentenced by civil and military courts respectively.


Four Members for Irish constituencies are at present in gaol, namely, Mr. R. C Barton, Member for East Wicklow, who is serving a sentence of five years' penal servitude for having made a seditious speech containing an incitement to the murder of the Lord Lieutenant and the late right hon. Frank Brooke; Mr. P. P. Galligan, Member for West Cavan, who is serving a sentence of one year's hard labour for unlawful drilling; Mr. T. McSwiney, Member for Mid-Cork and Lord Mayor of Cork, who is serving a sentence of two years' imprisonment for having under his control a secret police cipher, and having in his possession seditious documents, and the Countess Markievicz, Member for St. Patrick's Division of Dublin, who is in custody on military remand. In addition, Mr. E. Blythe, Member for North Monaghan, sentenced to one year without hard labour for seditious speech and seditious documents, and Mr. P. O'Keefe, Member for West Cork, sentenced to 18 months' imprisonment without hard labour for seditious speech, were released on hunger strike and have evaded re-arrest. Mr. P. Beasley, Member for East Kenny, sentenced to two years without hard labour for seditious speech, and Mr. J. J. Walsh, Member for Cork City, sentenced to five years for seditious speech, escaped from prison and have evaded arrest. All these sentences were by courts-martial.